Skip to content

Tips² (tips on tips)

October 3, 2012

There are so many different tips out there that it can make a decorator’s head spin, and that’s after you decide on a brand. For beginners, I do recommend starting out with Wilton brand for a couple of reasons. First, they are really cheap, ranging from one to two bucks. Second, you can find them in many commercial supermarkets and craft stores. Cheap and easy to find? I’ll take that! <insert dirty joke here> I’ve used them since I started decorating and they still work as well as the day I bought them (or the day I stole them from my mother. She has had all the good stuff). Here is a video that actually contains all the tips I would recommend. Handy, huh? I have several tips in the same size since I have learned it’s a total pain in the ass to switch them out constantly when you want to change colors. If you’re curious as to just how many tips Wilton has available, look more closely at the master decorating tip set above. That’s not even all of them. There are more. It’s enough to make this gal positively giddy with excitement while simultaneously making my pocketbook whimper in agony.

Until I read this post from Sweet Sugarbelle, I never realized that the sizes in tips really do vary from brand to brand. Something to keep in mind when you decide to expand your tip set. Tips are a great investment for decorators, especially if you plan on decorating more than just cookies. There are several savory dishes and even cookies themselves that use piping tips. Think – twice baked potatoes, deviled eggs, meringue cookies, etc. Since they’re multitasking, that gives us an excuse to buy a ton of them, right? Right.

From → Pastry Bag

2 Comments
  1. Weird, I didn’t know that tip sizes vary from brand to brand either. Although I don’t make it a habit of using tips all that often. (It’s more like I’m lazy and just stuff the icing in a zip-lock bag and cut off the corner to however big I want the “tip” to be.) And the video wasn’t working for me, but I’m sure it’s a handy one to watch! Now I want to go bake something.

    • Thanks for the update on the link, Megan! It is fixed in case you want to check it out. I sometimes put a tip in the ziplock bag too. That way I don’t feel guilty pushing the tip out of it and sticking the bag straight into my mouth.

Leave a Reply

