Skip to content

Embellish cookies the ‘natural’ way

October 4, 2012

I’m always leery about using “ready-made” stuff. One, because I feel that if I can’t pronounce the ingredient list I shouldn’t be eating it. And two, I’m stuck up as hell. I think that I not only can make stuff that is in the jar, but I can make it my own way and make it better. So when my snooty ass came across these two tutorials, I knew there was no turning back for me. I mean, come on. Homemade sprinkles and sanding sugar? I’m about to have a sugar-based aneurysm. The end result is preservative free and will last indefinitely in an airtight container. I burn through it pretty quickly, so I usually use some of my smaller canning jars for storage. You can always use a Tupperware container or some of these (These containers are amazing, and if you ever watch Barefoot Contessa, these are the containers she uses for ice cream, stock, etc. Freezer, microwave, and dishwasher safe. Buy them. Use them).

Another great thing about making your own decorations is the color possibilities are endless. You can have gradients of colors and have the ability to match your icing color perfectly. Making embellishments is a great way to use up the leftover icing from decorating cookies. It used to make me sad to throw away any leftover icing. And attempting to eat all the remaining icing never ended well. Here is another great tutorial for simple roses to place on cookies, cakes and cupcakes. Come on ladies; don’t wait for your man to bring you flowers. Most of the time, the reason he’s giving them to you is because he forgot something. Ditch those expectations and make your own damn flowers. And this time, they will be pretty and taste good too.

From → Pastry Bag

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

