Skip to content

Treat your pressure cooker like a lover

October 17, 2012

It’s a good thing to learn the mannerisms and behaviors of your pressure cooker. Trust me on this. This attention to detail makes it happy. And since I see a correlation between love and food, this is important. To get correct cooking times, the pressure cooker and stove need to spend some time together. If they don’t, the love (i.e. food) will be unsatisfying. Nothing is more embarrassing than being a disappointment in the … ahem … kitchen. Miss Vickie’s web page is getting another shout-out here with her pressure cooker test drive tutorial. This is great if you have lost your manual or if you are new to pressure cooking.

I like this video because it shows the parts of the pressure cooker and the steps you need to cover when cooking. The tips that she uses can be a little misleading. First, not every cooker is going to have a yellow pressure indicator. Don’t focus on the indicator; just start timing when you see steam. Another factor is cooking time. She infers that cooking longer will ensure more tender food. Please take this with a large grain of kosher salt. If you leave your food in the cooker for too long, you can end up with a tough end product. Practice with the times if the first result doesn’t end to your liking. The whole point of this tool is to lessen the cooking time. Remember that a quickie can be a great thing.

From → Pressure Cooker

2 Comments
  1. You are right about losing the manual. We always use our pressure cooker for canning, and I never think of using it for anything else. This was really helpful!

    • I’d love it if I could remember where I put all my manuals. I have a feeling they’re all together, hanging out while I frantically try to remember how something works. Let me know if you are having trouble finding your manual. I’ve got a couple sites I check out that are pretty successful in finding it.

Leave a Reply

