Skip to content

How high you are determines cooking time

October 18, 2012

And by high, I mean elevation. Duh. Since I live in an area where elevation does not affect my cooking times, I feel as though I don’t give credence to those who do. After checking it out, I definitely do. Anyone that has to integrate math into their cooking is pretty bad ass in my book. Through some research, I found a simple formula to convert cooking times for high elevation. This is for pressure cooking times, so you may want to check for normal cooking times in case you need to know. You can also check out the extension office in your area for more information. They seem to have a booklet on just about everything.

Now, another great question you could ask would be: “Well, what are the set cooking times for what I’m cooking?” Don’t worry, you lazy ass, I found that for you too. This is really great because it lists just about everything I’ve ever thought of putting in a pressure cooker. Not only does it list the pressure cooking times, it also gives directions. It’s easier for me to print this kind of thing out to have a physical copy. Paper makes me feel safe. I love digital, and I use it to keep a copy of each of my recipes. But I don’t always trust it. I recommend backing any information you deem important onto a thumb drive or an external hard drive. But that’s just me. I’m a little higher than sea level and just a bit paranoid.

From → Pressure Cooker

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

