Skip to content

Thanksgiving woes be gone through the freezer

November 7, 2012

I feel it prudent to do Thanksgiving / big food party posts for the next couple of weeks just to keep my ass on track. Am I the only one that thinks it’s a good idea to try a totally new recipe/technique/tool in the kitchen the night before a holiday? Didn’t think so. I’ll be a self-proclaimed procrastinator when I get around to doing that too. I’m going to try to change my ways this year and you should too. All we gotta do is plan ahead. And not freak out waiting for the gravy to thicken.

In the last two mags I’ve gotten from King Arthur Flour, they’ve been promoting freezing. Besides my pie crusts, leftover egg whites (yes, you can freeze your egg whites) and the occasional basil pesto, my freezer and I aren’t on the friendliest of terms. I keep my ice cream and corn dogs in it. The end. But according to KAF, it doesn’t have to be … especially with their long list of make ahead and freeze recipes.

The following is a list of things you can make ahead (and how long it will last in the freezer) to make your life much simpler. All of these either need to be in an airtight containers or tightly wrapped to keep the chill off them. The better you wrap, the longer they will stay good. I can testify that their recipes are legit. Especially if you choose anything under “KAF Guaranteed.”

5 WEEKS

  • Cheesecake, without toppings, cooked and cooled
  • Pie dough
  • Fruitcake

 

3 WEEKS

  • Cookies, dropped and unbaked
  • Cutout or rollout cookies
  • Scones/biscuits
  • Pie filling (and they mean pumpkin, people!)
  • Dinner rolls

 

Cheesecake, cutout cookies and dinner rolls will need to thaw in the fridge a day before they are to be eaten. Last year I made 12 pies, doled out between three families. It was insane. I had to turn my garage into a makeshift freezer and my car into a rack. My advice: Don’t use this method as an excuse to make a bunch of stuff your freezer can hold, but your fridge cannot. Now your stomach is another matter …

From → Holiday cooking

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

