Skip to content

Dismembering tips suitable for La Cosa Nostra

November 15, 2012

I hate to disappoint, but I did not get my carving tips from someone in the Sicilian crime syndicate. However, the tips you will learn from the video below will definitely please the Don. He may even open the books for you after this. Carving a turkey can be very stressful, especially if you’re doing it in front of the family while they’re “patiently” waiting to be fed. You want to be able to do it right, do it quick, and get as much meat off the bird as possible. It’s not as easy as you would think. The first time I carved a turkey, I was (luckily) in the kitchen alone, away from the guests. They didn’t get to see me desperately pulling out the breast meat my knife missed with my bare hands or trying to whack the legs off with my chef’s knife. Don’t do what I did, unless you’re doing dinner and a show, and get it right this year.

If you have some time before a side dish will be done and your turkey is already carved up, be sure to cover him up. You want the meat to stay moist after you cut it. Obviously. Even if you’re drowning him in delicious gravy. I use the foil that I covered him up with during his rest time of 30 minutes post-oven and save some of my broth (from the turkey gravy) to pour on top of the meat.  Make sure your knife is sharp and is kept away from all your digits. You don’t want The Family to start calling you Teresa “Three Fingers,” do you?

From → Holiday cooking

Leave a Reply

