Skip to content

Funky flavors for homemade pasta

December 6, 2012

After tackling the plain Jane homemade pasta, I wanted some variation. I bought the cookbook Making Artisan Pasta recently for “Christmas,” since I have absolutely no intention of wrapping it, and it has some amaaazing looking pastas with ingredients I wouldn’t have ever thought of.

The most intriguing to me, besides the saffron and white wine pasta, was the chocolate pasta. “Say What?! I can make pasta for desert?” Oh yeah, most def. The book paired it with a berry-flavored sauce and a grated white chocolate to mimic parmesan. Um. Sold. The blog Food Babbles features the pasta within a lasagna. It’s like a chocolate orgy. And it’s the only orgy I would put in my mouth.

Spinach pasta is another recipe I frequently see that I’ve yet to try. I love hiding veggies in my meals, even when I know they’re there. There’s something about them not being in their initial form that I like. It makes them much easier to shove in my mouth. The spinach pasta would be really great paired with an alfredo sauce for some nice contrast. Now I just need to find ways to hide things that are bad for me in my foods. Nothing better than believing something is good for you. And I have a feeling I won’t have any trouble with that task.

From → Pasta Maker

One Comment
  1. Ha! That chocolate lasagna WAS like a chocolate orgy!! ;) If you make it, I hope you like it. It was ridiculously good.

Leave a Reply

